

ELIGIBLE PROJECTS

The Hubert Bals Fund supports feature film projects from Latin America, Asia, the Middle East, Africa and parts of Eastern Europe. Below you can find the list of eligible countries from these regions. The director, writer, and main producer of eligible projects should live and work in, and be nationals of one of these countries. Eligible projects should be (mainly) set and shot in one of the eligible countries. The HBF also provides support to feature films by filmmakers originating in one of the eligible countries, but now living in diaspora (e.g. dual nationality, refugee status or residency permit) in another country. Please note that priority is given to films that are majority shot in an eligible country.

ELIGIBLE APPLICANTS

Script and Project Development

The applicant should be the director or main producer of a project that meets the criteria mentioned above.

NFF+HBF Co-production Scheme

The applicant should be a Dutch producer that fits the eligibility criteria of the <u>Netherlands Film Fund</u>. The project should previously have been selected in the HBF's Script and Project Development category.

HBF+Europe: Minority Co-production Support & Post-production Support

The applicant should be a production company that is constituted and active for at least two years in a country participating in the MEDIA Sub-programme and owned - directly or by majority participation - by nationals from such countries. The track record of the applicant should demonstrate a (majority or minority) participation in at least two completed feature films, including one international or European co-produced feature film.

The director and main producer of the project should meet the criteria above. However, the coproduction structure should consist of a production company from a country participating in the MEDIA Subprogramme and of a production company from a country listed below. Other additional co-producers are optional.



ELIGIBLE COUNTRIES

Cook Islands

Saudi Arabia Afghanistan Dominican Republic Maldives Albania Mali Ecuador Senegal Marshall Islands Algeria Egypt Serbia Angola El Salvador Mauritania Seychelles Antigua and Barbuda **Equatorial Guinea** Mauritius Sierra Leone Eritrea Argentina Mexico Singapore Armenia Ethiopia Solomon Islands Micronesia Azerbaijan Moldova Somalia Fiji **Bahamas** South Sudan Gabon Mongolia Bahrain Gambia Montenegro South Africa Bangladesh Georgia Montserrat Sri Lanka

Barbados Sudan Ghana Morocco Belarus Grenada Mozambique Suriname **Belize** Guatemala Myanmar Swaziland

Namibia Syrian Arab Republic Benin Guinea

Guinea-Bissau Nauru **Bhutan Tajikistan Bolivia** Guyana Nepal Tanzania Thailand Bosnia and Herzegovina Haiti Nicaraqua Honduras Timor-Leste Botswana Niger Brazil Hong Kong Nigeria Togo Tokelau Niue Brunei India Burkina Faso Indonesia North Macedonia Tonga

Trinidad and Tobago Burundi Iran Oman

Cabo Verde Pakistan Tunisia Iraq Cambodia Jamaica Palau Turkey Palestine Turkmenistan Cameroon Jordan

Central African Republic Kazakhstan Panama Tuvalu Chad Kenya Papua New Guinea Uganda Chile Kiribati Ukraine Paraguay

China, People's Republic Korea, Democratic Peru **United Arab Emirates** People's Republic of **Philippines United States Virgin** of

Colombia Kosovo Puerto Rico **Islands** Comoros Kyrgyzstan Qatar Uruguay Congo, Democratic Lao People's Democratic **Russian Federation** Uzbekistan Republic of the Republic Rwanda Vanuatu Saint Helena Venezuela Congo-Brazzaville Lebanon

Costa Rica Saint Lucia Liberia Wallis and Futuna

Côte d'Ivoire Libya Saint Vincent and the West Bank and Gaza Strip

Saint Kitts and Nevis

Viet Nam

Madagascar Cuba Grenadines Yemen Malawi Zambia Djibouti Samoa Dominica Malaysia Sao Tome and Principe Zimbabwe

Lesotho